• UK
  • EU
  • US

Betting guides


Scottish Premier League Betting Guide

1 2 3 4 5

Scottish Premier League 2011-2012 Preview

The Scottish Premier League is a professional league competition for association football clubs in Scotland. It is the top level of the Scottish football league system, above the Scottish Football League.

More people in Scotland per head of population watch their domestic top-level league than any other European nation. As of May 2010 the Scottish Premier League is ranked 15th in the UEFA rankings of European leagues, which are based on the performances of member clubs in European competitions. A total of 18 clubs have competed in the SPL since its inauguration in 1998–99, but only two have won the title, Rangers with 7 trophies and Celtic with 6.

This weekend another season of Scotland Premier League went under way. A season with high expectations from many teams, but as we were used in the past years, the battle for the title will be fought between Rangers and Celtic, the two great rivals from Glasgow. We will try in the following lines to present a Scottish Premier League preview for the 2011-2012 season, and try to predict what team will crown as Champion at the end of the season. Despite winning the last 3 editions, Rangers is not the top favorite in the bookmaker’s opinion, at the end of this season, Celtic would be champions. Still, the odds difference is small, which shows that we will assist a new season where “The Bhoys” and “The Gers” will take turn leading the table, fighting till the end to achieve their objective.

Transfers….only 3.5 mil €!

There is not much to say about this summer’s transfers, contrary, Scottish clubs seem to suffer a lot because of the economic crisis. The proof is only the 3.5 mil Euro invested in transfers, by all the 12 teams in the SPL! The total losses are minimum, 2.65 mil Euro, recovered by selling some players . Celtic transfers: Incoming players: Hooiveld (FC Copenhagen- returned after loan), Duncan (Aalborg-returned after loan), Matthews (Cardiff, 0.25 mil. €), Wilson (Nott. Forrest, free), Wanyeama (Beerschot, 1.1 mil €). Outgoing players: McGowan, Hutchinson, Conroz, Ljunberg, Hinkel Rangers transfers: Incoming players: Ortiz (Almeria, 0.45 mil. €), Wallace (Hearts, 1.7mil. €) Outgoing players: Littlem Shinnie, Perry According to the official site transfermarkt.de, the most expensive lot of players belongs to Glasgow-62.1 mil €, followed of course by Celtic-59.05 mil €.Third in top, but at a big difference is Hearts-21.05 mil. €.

Dunfermline is the only team coming from Division 1, they hope to be able to maintain themselves in the Premier League this season. For the European places, Hearts and Dundee United will be in top position, but other teams can get involved. The 2010-2011 Season top goalscorer was Kenny Miller, currently at Cardiff City, but he played for Rangers. The games from SPL bring a lot of fans to the stands. The highest attendance of more than 58.000 fans was recorded on 24 October 2010 at the game between Celtic and Rangers. Celtic managed to set a new record in the history of the SPL for margin of victory in a single match with a 9–0 win against Aberdeen.

League Infomation

Countries: Scotland
Confederation: UEFA
Founded: 1998
Number of teams: 12
Levels on pyramid: 1
Relegation to: Scottish First Division
Domestic cups: Scottish Cup, League Cup
International cups: Champions League, Europa League
Current champions: Rangers
Most championships: Rangers -7

Free Bets

- Easy registration process
- One of the best online bookies out there who also reward long term loyalty with loads of regular offers
- Up to £200 Free when you open an account
- Trusted leading UK online bookmaker
- Excellant regular offers including faller refunds on some races
- Up to £50 Free when you open an account
- Simple registration process
- Your free bet will be credited to your account within 24 hours
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Ladbrokes is the easiest site to place your Kentucky Derby bet at
- Ladbrokes accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £60 Free when you open an account
- William Hill are one of the favourite sites for peole to place their Kentucky Derby bets at
- William Hill accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Boylesports have great regular promotions and cash back offers
- Easy to use site with simple registration and deposit process
- Up to £40 Free when you open an account

Previous Season of Scottish Premier League

Last season of the Scottish Premier League was a thrilling season, with Rangers and Celtic going neck to neck until the final games. Rangers won the title with just one point over Celtic, and won the third title in a row.

Previous Champions:

Year Champion Runner-up
2011 Rangers Celtic
2010 Rangers Celtic
2009 Rangers Celtic
2008 Celtic Rangers
2007 Celtic Rangers
2006 Celtic Hearts
2005 Rangers Celtic
2004 Celtic Rangers
2003 Rangers Celtic
2002 Celtic Rangers
2001 Celtic Rangers
2000 Rangers Celtic



Celtic 1.69 10bet Celtic came second in the last 3 years, but this year are seen as favorites to win the title. Anyway, it will be a battle until the end with Rangers.
Rangers 2.50 PaddyPower Despite winning the title 3 times in a row, Rangers are only second favorites to win the title this year. The battle will be held until the last games, so fewer points lost on the way could make the difference.
Hearts 48.50 10bet Third place last year, with few chances to get in the battle for the title. Third place and a place in the European Cups is the best they can get.


We provide odds comparison in real time for Scottish Premier League betting so you can discover best odds and bookmakers for your favorites before placing bets. Our tools compare prices from more then 20 online bookmakers for this event.

Partybets logo


Hit the ground running at PartyBets.com with our great 100% sign up bonus up to €20.

€20 Free Bet

Read Reaview
Partybets signup
Premier League Marathon