• UK
  • EU
  • US

Betting guides


The open championship 2011 british open betting

1 2 3 4 5

Open Championship Golf Tournament Preview

The Open Championship, often referred to as the British Open, is the oldest of the four major championships in professional golf. It is the only "major" held outside the USA and is administered by The R&A, which is the governing body of golf outside the USA and Mexico.
The Open is played on the weekend of the third Friday in July. It is the third major to take place each year, following The Masters and the U.S. Open, but preceeding the PGA Championship.

The British Open prize fund will reach this year five million pounds for the first time in history.

Here is the pot for the top placed:

1st place £900,000
2nd £520,000
3rd £335,000
4th £260,000
5th £210,000
6th £180,000
7th £155,000
8th £130,000
9th £115,000
10th £104,000

Tournament Infomation

Location: United Kingdom
Established: 1860
Course: 2011 - Royal St George`s, England
Par: 70 in 2011
Length: 7,211 yd (6,594 m) in 2011
Tour(s): PGA Tour, European Tour, Japan Golf Tour
Format: Stroke play
Prize fund: £5,000,000 in 2011
Month played: July

Free Bets

- Easy registration process
- One of the best online bookies out there who also reward long term loyalty with loads of regular offers
- Up to £200 Free when you open an account
- Trusted leading UK online bookmaker
- Excellant regular offers including faller refunds on some races
- Up to £50 Free when you open an account
- Simple registration process
- Your free bet will be credited to your account within 24 hours
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Ladbrokes is the easiest site to place your Kentucky Derby bet at
- Ladbrokes accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £60 Free when you open an account
- William Hill are one of the favourite sites for peole to place their Kentucky Derby bets at
- William Hill accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Boylesports have great regular promotions and cash back offers
- Easy to use site with simple registration and deposit process
- Up to £40 Free when you open an account

History of the Tournament

The Open Championship was first played on 17 October 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club, in Ayrshire, Scotland. The inaugural tournament was restricted to professionals, and attracted a field of eight Scottish golfers, who played three rounds of Prestwick`s twelve-hole course in a single day.

Tournament Records

Oldest winner: Old Tom Morris (46 years, 99 days), 1867.
Youngest winner: Young Tom Morris (17 years, 181 days), 1868.[18]
Most victories: 6, Harry Vardon (1896, 1898, 1899, 1903, 1911, 1914).
Most consecutive victories: 4, Young Tom Morris (1868, 1869, 1870, 1872 - there was no championship in 1871).
Lowest absolute 72-hole score: 267, Greg Norman (66-68-69-64), 1993.
Lowest 72-hole score in relation to par: –19, Tiger Woods (67-66-67-69, 269), 2000 (a record for all major championships). Norman`s 1993 score was −13. Par at Royal St George`s, the site of the 1993 Open, was 70, as opposed to the par 72 of The Old Course at St Andrews, the 2000 site. The to-par record broken by Woods was not held by Norman, but by Nick Faldo, who shot −18 at The Old Course in 1990.
Greatest victory margin: 13 strokes, Old Tom Morris, 1862. This remained a record for all majors until 2000, when Woods won the U.S. Open by 15 strokes at Pebble Beach. However, Old Tom`s 13-stroke margin was achieved over just 36 holes.
Lowest 18-hole score: 63 – Mark Hayes, 2nd round, 1977; Isao Aoki, 3rd, 1980; Greg Norman, 2nd, 1986; Paul Broadhurst, 3rd, 1990; Jodie Mudd, 4th, 1991; Nick Faldo, 2nd, 1993; Payne Stewart, 4th, 1993; Rory McIlroy, 1st, 2010.
Lowest 18-hole score in relation to par: -9, Paul Broadhurst, 3rd, 1990; Rory McIlroy, 1st, 2010.

Previous Winners

Year Venue Champion Country Prize
2010 St Andrews Louis Oosthuizen South Africa £850,000
2009 Turnberry Stewart Cink United States £750,000
2008 Royal Birkdale Golf Club Padraig Harrington Republic of Ireland £750,000
2007 Carnoustie Golf Links Padraig Harrington Republic of Ireland £750,000
2006 Royal Liverpool Golf Club Tiger Woods United States £720,000
2005 St Andrews Tiger Woods United States £720,000
2004 Royal Troon Golf Club Todd Hamilton United States £720,000
2003 Royal St George`s Golf Club Ben Curtis United States £700,000
2002 Muirfield Ernie Els South Africa £700,000
2001 Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club David Duval United States £600,000
2000 St Andrews Tiger Woods United States £500,000


This year bookmakers favorites to win the tournament are Rory McIlroy at 7.03 from Betdaq, Lee Westwood at 12 from Centerbet and Luke Donald, 17.58 from Betdaq.

2011 Players

Rory McIlroy 7.03 Betdaq This year`s US Open winner has the first to win this tournament according to the bookmakers. It was a surprise to see him win the US Open, but he played great golf and he deserved the win. If he can keep his form up, he can win this tournament too.
Lee Westwood 12.00 Centrebet He was second last year in the Open Championship and only third this year in US Open, He surely wants to win the tournament this year, but it McIlroy will be a tough nut to crack.
Luke Donald 17.58 Betdaq He is in great form this year, managing to get in top of all the tournaments he played. If he can get on top in this tournament, well, that`s another question to be asked. With a bit of luck, he can get into top 3.
Martin Kaymer 23.00 Centrebet He was the No. 1 ranked player in the world two months this year from February till April, and that says a lot. He is capable of great games and it will not be such a great surprise to see him win.
Sergio Garcia 29.45 Betdaq After almost 1 year of break, Sergio Garcia returned to competitive play in late 2010. He played at this year`s edition of the US Open, but without notable result. He needs a miracle to get into the top 3 of the Open Championship Tournament.


We provide odds comparison in real time for King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes so you can discover best odds and bookmakers for your favourites before placing bets. Our tools compare prices from more then 20 online bookmakers for this event.

betway logo


Open a new account , make a deposit of 10 GBP minimum and you will get a Free Bet of the same amount of your deposit, up to 50 GBP.

£50 Free Bet

Read Reaview
betway signup
Premier League Marathon