• UK
  • EU
  • US

Betting guides


King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes Betting Tips | Runners | 2011 Race Guide

King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2011 Race Preview

The race is hosted by ASCOT , every year in july over a distance of 2414 meters. It is opened only for thoroughbreds aged three years or older. It is Britain`s most prestigious open-age flat race, and its roll of honour features some of the most highly-acclaimed horses of the sport`s recent history. This year for the race winners total prizes are over £1,000,000

1st place £567,700
2nd £215,200
3rd £107,700
4th £53,700
5th £26,900
6th £13,500

Race Infomations

Distance 1m 4f (2,414 metres)
Track Turf, right-handed
Qualification Three-years-old and up
Weight 8 st 9 lb (3yo);
9 st 7 lb (4yo+)
3 lb for fillies and mares
4 lb for S. Hemisphere 4yo
Purse £1,000,000 (2009)
Location Ascot Racecourse
Ascot, England
Inaugurated 1951
Race type Flat / Thoroughbred
Sponsor Betfair
Website Ascot

Free Bets

- Easy registration process
- One of the best online bookies out there who also reward long term loyalty with loads of regular offers
- Up to £200 Free when you open an account
- Trusted leading UK online bookmaker
- Excellant regular offers including faller refunds on some races
- Up to £50 Free when you open an account
- Simple registration process
- Your free bet will be credited to your account within 24 hours
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Ladbrokes is the easiest site to place your Kentucky Derby bet at
- Ladbrokes accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £60 Free when you open an account
- William Hill are one of the favourite sites for peole to place their Kentucky Derby bets at
- William Hill accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Boylesports have great regular promotions and cash back offers
- Easy to use site with simple registration and deposit process
- Up to £40 Free when you open an account

History of race

The ‘King George’ was first run in 1951, following the amalgamation of two other middle-distance races at Ascot which were established in 1946 and 1948. The first of these, named after King George VI, was a 2-mile contest for three-year-olds held in October. The second, in honour of his consort Queen Elizabeth, was a 1½-mile event staged in July. In the early 70s, the word ‘Diamond’ was added to the title after the start of De Beers’ sponsorship. Today’s backers are online betting company Betfair, with the prize fund reaching £1 million in 2009.

Current leading jockey: Lester Piggott – Meadow Court (1965), Aunt Edith (1966), Park Top (1969), Nijinsky (1970), Dahlia (1974), The Minstrel (1977), Teenoso (1984)
Current leading trainers: Saeed bin Suroor, 5 wins (1995, 1997-8-9, 2004)
Sir Michael Stoute, 5 wins (1981, 1993, 2003, 2009-10)
Dick Hern – Brigadier Gerard (1972), Troy (1979), Ela-Mana-Mou (1980), Petoski (1985), Nashwan (1989)
Most successful horse: Dahlia (2 wins) – 1973, 1974 and Swain (2 wins) – 1997, 1998

Previous Winners

Last 3 races was won by Harbinger, Conduit and Duke Of Marmalad horses which will not run this year.
Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
2010 Harbinger Olivier Peslier Sir Michael Stoute Highclere Thoroughbred Racing
2009 Conduit Ryan Moore Sir Michael Stoute Ballymacoll Stud
2008 Duke Of Marmalade Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Magnier/Tabor
2007 Dylan Thomas Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Magnier/Tabor
2006 Hurricane Run Christophe Soumillon André Fabre Michael Tabor
2005 Azamour Michael Kinane John Oxx HH Aga Khan
2004 Doyen Frankie Dettori Saeed bin Suroor Godolphin
2003 Alamshar Johnny Murtagh John Oxx HH Aga Khan
2002 Golan Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Exors of Lord Weinstock
2001 Galileo Michael Kinane Aidan O’Brien Magnier/Tabor
2000 Montjeu Michael Kinane John Hammond Michael Tabor


This year bookmakers favourites for the race are St Nicholas Abbey at 2/1, Workforce at 3/1 and So You Think at 4/1.


WORKFORCE 3.50 BET365    
SO YOU THINK 5.00 BET365    
SNOW FAIRY 11.00 BET365    
REWILDING 5.00 BET365    


We provide odds comparison in real time for King George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes so you can discover best odds and bookmakers for your favourites before placing bets. Our tools compare prices from more then 20 online bookmakers for this event.

Boylesports logo


Place your 1st bet of £10 or more and Boylesports will match your stake with a free bet up to £20. You must stake a minimum of £10 on your first bet in order to qualify for the Boylesports offer.

£20 Free Bet

Read Reaview
Boylesports signup
Premier League Marathon