• UK
  • EU
  • US

Betting guides


Snooker Premier League Betting Guide 2011

1 2 3 4 5

Premier League Snooker Tournament Preview

Premier League Snooker is a professional non-ranking snooker tournament. It has been running since 1987. The tournament is played in a round-robin format over a number of weeks, normally from mid-September to early-December, around the other World Snooker events in various locations.

All matches are shown live on Sky Sports in the United Kingdom and this coverage is syndicated to other networks around the world. The reigning champion is Ronnie O`Sullivan.

Prize pool:

1st place £ 30,000
2nd £15,000
3rd £5,000
4th £5,000

There is also a bonus fund of £1,000 per frame won and £1,000 per century break during the league phase section making a total of £252,000 available. The £1,000 frame and £1,000 century bonus does not apply during the semi-finals or final.

Tournament Infomation

Country: United Kingdom
Established: 1987
Organisation: Matchroom Sport
Format: Non-ranking event
Total prize fund: £200,000
Current champion: Ronnie O`Sullivan

Free Bets

- Easy registration process
- One of the best online bookies out there who also reward long term loyalty with loads of regular offers
- Up to £200 Free when you open an account
- Trusted leading UK online bookmaker
- Excellant regular offers including faller refunds on some races
- Up to £50 Free when you open an account
- Simple registration process
- Your free bet will be credited to your account within 24 hours
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Ladbrokes is the easiest site to place your Kentucky Derby bet at
- Ladbrokes accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £60 Free when you open an account
- William Hill are one of the favourite sites for peole to place their Kentucky Derby bets at
- William Hill accept all major credit and debit cards as well as other deposit methods like paypal and moneybookers
- Up to £25 Free when you open an account
- Boylesports have great regular promotions and cash back offers
- Easy to use site with simple registration and deposit process
- Up to £40 Free when you open an account

History of race

The event started in 1987 as the Matchroom League. The inaugural event was won by Steve Davis, who won the first 4 years. The matches were of eight frames and all frames were played out. Three points was awarded for a win and one point for a draw. The winner of the tournament was the player, who finished top of the league. In 1991 there was also a tournament in Europe, called Matchroom International League.
In 1992 a play-off system was added. The top four players after the leagues phase played semi-finals and finals to determine the winner. In 1993 the event was renamed the European League and in 1998 the Premier League Snooker.
In 2005 Betfred took over the sponsorship of the tournament and introduced a 25 second shot clock and the matches in the leagues phase were shortened to six frames. In addition they offered £1000 for every century and frame won in the leagues phase. In the 2005/2006 season the event was moved form the second half of the calendar in the first half, thus there were two events in 2005.
It has been dominated by Steve Davis, Stephen Hendry and Ronnie O`Sullivan, who between them have taken 19 of the 24 titles in the competition`s history. O`Sullivan has won the most titles, having won 9 in total and 5 in row between 2005 and 2008.

Previous Winners

Year Winner Runner Up Score
2010 Ronnie O`Sullivan Shaun Murphy 7-1
2009 Shaun Murphy Ronnie O`Sullivan 7-3
2008 Ronnie O`Sullivan Mark Selby 7-2
2007 Ronnie O`Sullivan John Higgins 7-4
2006 Ronnie O`Sullivan Jimmy White 7-0
2005 Ronnie O`Sullivan Stephen Hendry 6-0


This year bookmakers favorite is Ronnie O`Sullivan..

2011 Favorites

Ronnie O`Sullivan 4.00 Stanjames 5 times winner in the last 6 tournaments, clearly the favorite to win this year`s tournament too. If he can keep his concentration up, he will be the winner
Mark Williams 6.50 Stanjames The current number 1 rank in the world could pose problems to Ronnie. He must play at his best to defeat the Champion
John Higgins 6.50 Stanjames He won the World Snooker Championship this year and he`s ranked second in the world. If he can play like he did in the World Championship he could win the Premier League
Shaun Murphy 8.50 Stanjames Ranked 7`th in the world, he needs a lot of luck to qualify in the upper phases of the tournament.
Judd Trump 9 Paddy Power Finalist at the World Championship, he played great snooker at that tournament. He needs the same play to get into the semi-finals or the final.


We provide odds comparison in real time for Premier League Snooker so you can discover best odds and bookmakers for your favorites before placing bets. Our tools compare prices from more then 20 online bookmakers for this event.

noxwin logo


Open a new account with Noxwin. To get the bonus all you have to do is bet at least 10GBp at odds 2.0 , and if you lose Noxwin will give a Free Bet of the same stake, up to a maximum of 33GBP.

£33 Free Bet

Read Reaview
noxwin signup
Premier League Marathon